Resources for Students & Parents

The following links have been added to assist students and parents navigate the internet to search for information on: Regents Exam Review,College Testing, College Searches, College Majors, Scholarship Searches, Financial Aid, Career Information

REGENTS EXAM REVIEW
Regents Prep www.regentsprep.org
Study Zone www.studyzone.org

CAREER INFORMATION
Career Zone New York State career information
Career Cruising Data Base Link to this web site through the HS Library's Data Base.
Genesee County Business Education Alliance The Genesee County BEA works with schools to deliver programming that is aimed at career readiness. Find information on programs as well as register online for programs such as Summer Career Camps.

COLLEGE TESTING
College Board Web site to sign up and study for the SAT test www.collegeboard.com
ACT Web site to sign up and study for the ACT test. www.actstudent.org
COLLEGE SEARCHES
college view www.collegeview.com
Princeton review www.princetonreview.com
Match College www.matchcollege.com
WNY College Connection
NY Private Colleges and Universities Campus profiles of New York's 100+ private colleges and universities. www.nycolleges.org
College Navigator The National Center for Education Statistics sponsors the College Navigator site, which can aid students in the college search process. nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/
College Navigator The National Center for Education Statistics sponsors the College Navigator site, which can aid students in the college search process. nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/
college informationCollege.gov was designed by students for students and features first-person accounts of students who overcame challenges to going to college such as peer pressure, lack of family support, and financial barriers. It provides relevant, comprehensive information about why to go, how to go, and how to pay for college or other postsecondary education programs. www.college.gov
College Board Good search engine to locate colleges based on a number of factors (location, size, majors, extra-curricular, cost...) www.collegeboard.com
Go College New York You’ll learn why college is important for your future, the right steps and classes to take to get to college, how to choose the college that is right for you, how to apply for and pay for college.

COLLEGE MAJORS
Princeton Review www.princetonreview.com
College View www.collegeview.com
My College optionswww.mycollegeoptions.org
What Can I Do with this Major? Ever wonder what kind of job you can get with a certain college major? This is a website that will help you to answer those questions.
My Majors www.mymajors.com

COLLEGE APPLICATIONS
It is recommended that students see their Guidance Counselor before applying to a community college.  The SUNY Application fee may be much higher than applying directly to a community college.  For example, applying to Genesee Community College is free.
SUNY Application The SUNY application- all SUNY (State University of New York) colleges use this common application- apply to several state colleges at once (*note: do not apply to community colleges using this form-community colleges offer free or reduced cost applications at their own websites.) www.suny.edu/student
Common Application The Common Application has over 700 colleges that use this form- apply to several colleges using the same application. www.commonapp.org

SCHOLARSHIP SEARCHES
Fast Web www.fastweb.com
scholarships www.scholarships.com
Cappex - scholarships www.cappex.com/scholarships/
Any College.com www.anycollege.com
Merit Aid www.meritaid.com
Zinch www.zinch.com

FINANCIAL AID
Federal Student Aid US Department of Education website. Financial aid information and resources. www.studentaid.ed.gov
College Affordability and Transparency Center www.collegecost.ed.gov
FAFSA Federal Student Aid form web site www.fafsa.ed.gov